Newton Fund

Change text size:

A- A A+

Administration of the Newton Prize

The 2018 Newton Prize call for applications has now closed. Next year's Newton Prize countries will be announced in December. 

Five Newton funded projects will be awarded the Newton Prize. Each prize will be worth up to £200,000 to advance Newton funded work. Prizes will be awarded for eligible projects that demonstrate a benefit to the economy, society, culture, public policy or services, health, the environment, or quality of life.  

Prizes are awarded by an independent selection committee chaired by Sir Venkatraman Ramakrishnan. Sir Venki is one of Britain’s most eminent scientists, a Nobel Prize winning biologist and president of The Royal Society. He will be joined by a diverse selection of committee members covering the Newton Fund’s main thematic areas, and including development and regional specialists.


The Newton Prize Team:

The UK National Commission (UKNC) for UNESCO in London has been appointed to administer the Newton Prize application process. The Newton Prize administering team is led by Sarah Shaw, Newton Prize Project Director. The team can be contacted at:


Supporting documents for applicants: