Newton Fund

Change text size:

A- A A+

Newton Prize Committee

The prizes are awarded by the Newton Prize Committee which is chaired by Sir Venki Ramakrishnan FRS, President of the Royal Society and a Nobel Prize Winner.

A big thank you goes to the hard work and time offered by our outstanding Committee Members who were tasked with the difficult job of selecting the 2017 Prize winners from a highly competitive selection of shortlisted applications.

The Newton Prize Committee reviewed all of the short-listed applications, along with feedback from the expert peer reviewers, and identified the winners using a consistent scoring system.  Details of out committee can be found below:


Professor Sir Venki Ramakrishnan, President of the Royal Society

2017 Committee

Professor Elizabeth Tanner, Professor of Biomedical Materials, University of Glasgow

Professor Jonathan Weber, Director of Research for the Faculty of Medicine, Imperial College

Dr Irene Guijt, Head of Research, Oxfam

Professor Sir Howard Newby, retired Vice-Chancellor, University of Liverpool

Professor Nick Jennings, Vice-Provost (Research), Chair of Artificial Intelligence, Imperial College

Professor Georgina Mace, Head of the Centre for Biodiversity and Environment Research, University College London

Dr Jonathan Hague, Vice President R&D Operations and Open Innovation, Unilever

Professor Armida Alisjahbana, Professor of Economics, Padjadjaran University; founder of Sustainable Development Goals Centre, Padjadjaran University.

Professor Azim Surani, Director of Germline and Epigenomics Research, University of Cambridge