Newton Fund

Change text size:

A- A A+

Newton Prize Chair & Committee

The prizes are awarded by the 2020 Newton Prize Committee which is chaired by Professor Alice Gast, President of Imperial College London.

The Newton Prize Committee reviews all of the shortlisted applications, along with feedback from the expert peer reviewers, and selects the winners using a consistent scoring system.  

The 2020 Newton Prize eligible countries are: Egypt, Jordan, Kenya, Turkey and South Africa.

"What I love about the Newton Prize, and the Newton Fund, is its emphasis on important cutting edge research that matters, alongside its focus on collaboration and capacity building within the countries. We in the UK seek the very best partners wherever they are, and we don’t let political, cultural, or physical boundaries deter us.

“It is clear that the Newton Prize exemplifies the power of international collaboration. We know from our work that international collaboration produces research with higher impact, papers that are more widely read, and insights and innovation that come from diversity of approach.” 

Professor Alice Gast, Imperial College London President and Newton Prize Committee Chair 


Professor Alice P. Gast

Professor Alice P. Gast, one of the world’s foremost chemical engineers and academic leaders, was appointed President of Imperial College London in 2014. 

Professor Gast's academic interest is in surface and interfacial phenomena, in particular the behaviour of complex fluids. She has co-authored numerous scientific publications and a classic textbook on colloid and surface phenomena. 

As well her role at Imperial, Professor Gast is a member of a number of UK and international advisory committees and boards including the Board of UK Research and Innovation; the Board of Trustees for the King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST); the Academic Research Council for the Singapore Ministry of Education. She was made a United States Science Envoy to the Caucasus and Central Asia in 2010. In 2012, she was appointed to the board of directors of Chevron Corporation. Professor Gast is Chair of the World Economic Forum Global University Leaders' Forum (GULF) and is also a member of the Advisory Board for the World Economic Forum Centre for the Fourth Industrial Revolution.  

Professor Gast is an elected member of the National Academy of Engineering, a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Fellow of the Académie des Technologies, France, and was a board member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science from 2006 - 2010. In 2017 she became a Fellow of The City and Guilds of London Institute. She has been awarded honorary degrees by the Universiti Teknologi Malaysia, the University of Notre Dame, the University of Pierre and Marie Curie, and the University of Western Ontario. In 2017 she received an honorary professorship from Tsinghua University. 

2020 Committee coming soon...

Please follow these links to details of the 20172018 and 2019 committees.