Newton Fund

Change text size:

A- A A+

2017 Newton Prize Committee

The 2017 Newton Prizes were awarded by the 2017 Newton Prize Committee which was chaired by President of the Royal Society and Nobel Prize Winner, Sir Venki Ramakrishnan FRS.

The 2017 Newton Prize Committee reviewed all of the short-listed applications, along with feedback from the expert peer reviewers, and identified the winners using a consistent scoring system.


Professor Sir Venki Ramakrishnan, President of the Royal Society


Professor Elizabeth Tanner, Professor of Biomedical Materials, University of Glasgow

Professor Jonathan Weber, Director of Research for the Faculty of Medicine, Imperial College

Dr Irene Guijt, Head of Research, Oxfam

Professor Sir Howard Newby, retired Vice-Chancellor, University of Liverpool

Professor Nick Jennings, Vice-Provost (Research), Chair of Artificial Intelligence, Imperial College

Professor Georgina Mace, Head of the Centre for Biodiversity and Environment Research, University College London

Dr Jonathan Hague, Vice President R&D Operations and Open Innovation, Unilever

Professor Armida Alisjahbana, Professor of Economics, Padjadjaran University; founder of Sustainable Development Goals Centre, Padjadjaran University.

Professor Azim Surani, Director of Germline and Epigenomics Research, University of Cambridge