Newton Fund

Change text size:

A- A A+

2018 Newton Prize Committee

The 2018 Newton prizes were awarded by the 2018 Newton Prize Committee which is chaired by Sir Venki Ramakrishnan FRS, President of the Royal Society and a Nobel Prize Winner.

The Newton Prize Committee reviewed all of the short-listed applications, along with feedback from the expert peer reviewers, and identified the winners using a consistent scoring system.  

The 2018 Newton Prize eligible countries are: Brazil, Chile, Colombia and Mexico. 


Professor Sir Venki Ramakrishnan

“One of the aims of the Newton Prize is to highlight the lasting partnerships developed between UK researchers and their colleagues in Newton Fund partner countries to solve global challenges."

“Latin America has a wealth of excellent researchers working in collaboration with the UK to tackle issues as diverse as post conflict studies, biodiversity, health and earth observation through the Newton Fund partnerships in the region. As Chair of the Newton Prize Committee, I look forward to finding out more about these collaborative endeavours.”

Venki Ramakrishnan is a Fellow of the Royal Society, a member of the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO) and a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences. He received the Louis-Jeantet prize for medicine in 2007 and shared the Nobel prize for chemistry in 2009. In 2015, he was elected President of the Royal Society for a 5-year term.

2018 Committee

The Baroness Brown of Cambridge, Engineer and member of the House of Lords 

Paula Caballero, Managing Director for Climate and Water, RARE

Dr Jaime Saavedra Chanduvi, Senior Director, Education Global Practice, World Bank Group

Professor Jane Francis, Director of the British Antarctic Survey, Cambridge

Professor Carlos Frenk, Ogden Professor of Fundamental Physics and founding Director of the Institute for Computational Cosmology, Durham University 

Dr Jonathan HagueVice President R&D Homecare Discover, Unilever

Dr. Celina Maria Turchi Martelli, researcher of Infectious Disease Epidemiology at the Institute Aggeu Magalhães, FIOCRUZ-Pernambuco, Brazil

Kathy Peach, Interim Head of Nesta’s Centre for Collective Intelligence Design

Dr. Fabiola León-Velarde, president of the National Council of Science, Technology and Technological Innovation (CONCYTEC), Peru